The PAS Undergraduate and Graduate Research Grants Program has awarded grants to 15 students from ten different Pennsylvania colleges and universities.

Grants were awarded to (student authors listed in bold):

Jaquan Harley and Amy Greene, Albright University: “Inhibiting contractile vacuole cycling in the ciliate Vorticella convallaria

Bridget Finniff and Angela Hess, Bloomsburg University: “The Mechanisms Involved in The Development of Vemurafenib Resistance in Human Melanoma Cells”

Sydney Heathcott and John Cigliano, Cedar Crest College: “Trophic transfer of microplastics in a three-level food chain”

Giulia Romano and Lindsey Welch, Cedar Crest College: “Chemiluminescent Detection of Benzodiazepines Catalyzed by Ionic Liquid Metal Complexes”

Allison Wheelan and John Cigliano, Cedar Crest College: “The Effects of Ocean Acidification and Ocean Warming on the Embryonic Development of Hummingbird Bobtail Squid, Euprymna berryi

Talia Watson and Lindsey Welch, Cedar Crest College: “Determination of Ideal Conditions for the Synthesis of Naphthoquinones by Catalytic Oxidation Reaction”

Alexandria Zarilla, Daniel Oar, and Quyen Aoh, Gannon University: “Secretory carrier membrane protein 3’s (SCAMP3) role in β-amyloid production and secretion”

Sarah Grandinette and Cuong Diep, Indiana University of PA: “Testing peptides that bind to the lhx1a protein to determine their effects on kidney development in zebrafish”

Silas Buckwalter and John Harms, Messiah University: “Quantifying in vitro matrix deposition to elucidate the target of proglumide-mediated fibrotic inhibition in pancreatic cancer”

Hunter Haggett and Jessica Petko, Penn State University–York: “Elucidating the interaction and function of circadian rhythm genes from the common house spider, Parasteatoda tepidariorum.”

Alexander Curtis and Arthur Catino, University of Scranton: “Development of a Three-Component Domino Addition/Cyclization Reaction for the Synthesis of Triarylmethanes (TRAMs)”

Kaila Steenback and Arthur Catino, University of Scranton: “Synthesis of Tetraarylmethanes via the Truce-Smiles Rearrangment”

Jazzlyn Grenier, Alianna Landry, and Sean Georgi, York College of PA: “The Expression of circRERE and circFAT3 in Neural Differentiation of PC12 Cells”

Imani Featherson, Hunter Holm, and Wendy Boehmler, York College of PA: “Investigation of the Molecular Mechanisms Underlying the Toxic Effect of Di(2-propylheptyl) phthalate on Zebrafish (Danio rerio) Embryos”

Spencer Prematta and Jeffrey Thompson, York College of PA: “Development of a Loop-Mediated Isothermal Amplification (LAMP) Assay for the Detection of Frog Virus 3 (FV3) Ranavirus.”

Click for 2020 Awards, 2019 Awards, 2018 Awards, 2017 Awards, 2016 Awards2015 Awards2014 Awards2013 Awards2012 Awards